1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Official Languages in Canada


Canada, Quebec, Quebec City, Chateau Frontenac Hotel and street scene
Chris Cheadle/Digital Vision/Getty Images

Definition: English and French are the official languages of all federal government institutions in Canada. This means that the public has the right to communicate with, and receive services from, federal government institutions in either English or French and that federal government employees have the right to work in the official language of their choice in designated bilingual regions.

The Canadian federal government is also committed to advancing the equality of status and use of the English and French languages within Canadian society and provides support to the development of English and French linguistic minority communities. The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms spells out language rights in Canada and the Official Languages Act specifies the obligations of Canadian federal government institutions.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.