1. News & Issues



Definition: The province of Quebec is one of the ten provinces and three territories that make up Canada.

Origin of the Name Quebec: The name Quebec comes from the Algonquin word meaning narrow passage or strait. It originally referred to the area of Quebec City and the narrowing of the river at Cape Diamond.

See Also:

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.