1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Northwest Territories Facts


Winter sunrise on Blachford Lake, NWT

Blachford Lake, NWT

Kevin Schafer / Getty Images

Updated: 2/8/12

About the Northwest Territories:

The Northwest Territories in the western Arctic of Canada has a consensus system of government with no political parties. Mining, tourism and government are the key sectors in the Northwest Territories economy.

Location of the Northwest Territories:

Area of the Northwest Territories:

1,346,106 sq. km (519,734 sq. miles) (Natural Resources Canada, 2001)

Population of the Northwest Territories:

41,462 (Statistics Canada, 2011 Census)

Capital City of the Northwest Territories:

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Date the Northwest Territories Entered Confederation:

July 15, 1870

Government of the Northwest Territories:

The Northwest Territories operates under a consensus system rather than party politics. All MLAs are independents. Members elected in a Northwest Territories general election select the Premier, Speaker and six cabinet ministers. The remaining elected members sit as the opposition.

Last Northwest Territories Election:

October 3, 2011

Premier of the Northwest Territories:

Premier Bob McLeod

Main Northwest Territories Industries:

Mining, tourism, services

See Also:
Canadian Provinces and Territories - Key Facts

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.