1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Line of Succession of the British Monarchy

Order of Succession to the British Throne


Prince Charles With Sons Harry and William on a Ski Break

Prince Charles With Sons William and Harry

Jayne Fincher / Princess Diana Archive / Getty Images

Updated: 07/24/13

The order in which members of the Royal family succeed to the British throne is determined by descent and by the Bill of Rights (1689) and the Act of Settlement (1701).

Sovereign: Queen Elizabeth

  • The Prince of Wales (Prince Charles)
  • The Duke of Cambridge (Prince William)
  • Prince George of Cambridge (son of Prince William)
  • Prince Henry of Wales (Prince Harry)
  • The Duke of York (Prince Andrew)
  • Princess Beatrice of York (daughter of Prince Andrew)
  • Princess Eugenie of York (daughter of Prince Andrew)
  • The Earl of Wessex (Prince Edward)
  • Viscount Severn (James, son of Prince Edward)
  • The Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor (daughter of Prince Edward)
  • The Princess Royal (Princess Anne)
  • Peter Phillips (son of Princess Anne)
  • Savannah Phillips (daughter of Peter Phillips)
  • Isla Phillips (daughter of Peter Phillips)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.