1. News & Issues
Send to a Friend via Email

Provincial Premiers in Canada

Biographies of current Canadian provincial premiers, historical listings of past premiers and the role of the provincial premier in Canada.

Role of Provincial Premiers in Canada
The provincial premiers in Canada are the most powerful politicians in the provinces, and their responsibilities reflect that role.

Canadian Provincial Premiers Since Confederation
Check by province or territory for an historical list of Canadian Premiers since Confederation.

Write to Your Provincial Premier
Contact information for provincial premiers in Canada - mailing addresses, email addresses, phone and fax numbers.

Interim Alberta Premier Dave Hancock
Dave Hancock, Alberta's Deputy Premier and Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education, was selected by the Progressive Conservative caucus to fill in as premier while the party manages a leadership race to replace Alison Redford after her sudden resignation in March 2014.

British Columbia Premier Christy Clark
Christy Clark, a former Deputy Premier of British Columbia and popular radio talk show host, became the Premier of British Columbia in March 2011.

Manitoba Premier Greg Selinger
After 10 years as Manitoba's Minister of Finance, Greg Selinger became Premier of Manitoba in 2009 when he won the leadership of the NDP after the resignation of Gary Doer.

New Brunswick Premier David Alward
David Alward, Premier of New Brunswick, led the Progressive Conservatives to a majority government in the 2010 New Brunswick provincial election.

Newfoundland Premier Kathy Dunderdale
Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Kathy Dunderdale became Newfoundland and Labrador's first female premier when she took over from Danny Williams on his retirement in December 2010.

Northwest Territories Premier Bob McLeod
With 28 years experience as a public servant, and in just his second term as an MLA, Bob McLeod became the Premier of the Northwest Territories in 2011.

Nova Scotia Premier Darrell Dexter
In 2009, Darrelll Dexter led the Nova Scotia NDP to a majority government, making it the first time an NDP government had been elected in Atlantic Canada.

Northwest Territories Premier Floyd Roland
An Inuvialuit from Inuvik, Floyd Roland became Premier of the Northwest Territories in 2007 stressing the need for northerners to get more benefits from the development of resources in the North.

Nunauvt Premier Eva Aariak
The only woman elected to the Nunavut Legislative Assembly in the 2008 Nunavut election, Eva Aariak became Nunavut's second premier.

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne
Kathleen Wynne won the leadership of the Ontario Liberal Party in 2013 becoming the first woman premier and the first openly gay premier of Ontario.

PEI Premier Robert Ghiz
Young and energetic, Robert Ghiz, the son of former PEI Premier Joe Ghiz, defeated the long-standing government of Pat Binns in 2007.

Quebec Premier Pauline Marois
Pauline Marois led the Parti Québécois to a minority victory in the 2012 provincial election, becoming the first female premier of Quebec.

Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall
In 2011, Brad Wall and the Saskatchewan Party won a record high 64 percent of the popular vote and a second majority government.

Yukon Premier Darrell Pasloski
Darrell Pasloski became Yukon Premier when he won the leadership of the Yukon Party in 2011.

Council of the Federation
Canada's thirteen premiers have joined forces to create the Council of the Federation, a new mechanism in federal-provincial relations.

Sterling Lyon
Biography of former Manitoba Premier Sterling Lyon - a Crown attorney, member of the legislature, attorney general, leader of the opposition, premier and a judge on the Manitoba Court of Appeal.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.